In 1520, the Malvinas Islands were discovered by the Magellan’s expedition. All the Southern part of the Americas remained under Spanish sovereignty pursuant to several treaties signed during the historical period, such as the 1670 American Treaty between Spain and England. In 1764, France established the Port Louis settlement in Isla Soledad. Spain protested and France withdrew in 1767, in a recognition of Spain`s better title. England had already recognized Spain sovereignty over Malvinas when it declined to carry out an expedition in 1749 due to Spain`s demand.

In 1820, the United Provinces of the River Plate sent Colonel David Jewett to take possession of the islands, as reflected in international newspapers of that time. The Argentine government took several actions in support of its sovereignty over the islands, including the appointment of governors, enactment of legislation on fisheries and granting international concessions. In 1825, Great Britain recognised Argentina as a sovereign state, and made no reservations regarding Argentina`s exercise of sovereignty over the Malvinas Islands, which was public and peaceful.

On 3 January 1833, the Clio Corvette of the Royal Navy of Great Britain invaded the Malvinas Islands on behalf of the Crown, and took over Puerto Soledad by force.

On 15 January 1833, the Argentine Government protested to the British Charge d`Affairs in Buenos Aires, who replied he “lacked instructions”.

On 24 April 1833, the Argentine representative in London presented a note of protest to His Majesty’s Government, which he reiterated on 17 June 1833, in a lengthy and documented memorandum.

Since then, Argentina has repeated its protests against the act of force and the illegal occupation.